need some AE help! YCCS disengage needs adjusted...

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

~Kilroy

Reaction score
Noob here with an FJR1300AE specific question.

I pulled the tank off yesterday to take out the 1/4 turn or so of free play I had in the throttle. Several friends told me that it was WAY too much lash, so I tore into it and adjusted it on the EFI end fo the cable down under the heat shield. The free play is right on now with very little lash (~3mm). The only problem I have now is that the clutch hangs on for a split second longer than it used to while coming to a stop. You have to drag the brakes just a bit to dis-engage the clutch, then all is ok. It's probably something I can get used to, but there should be some type of adjustment for the computer or something. Before I adjusted the throttle, my stops were smoothe as butter...

2006 AE ABS

Idle set at 10,500-1100 RPM's

Starts are perfect

Stops are not as smoothe...

HELP!!!

..............\|||/.......................

.............(@@)........................

_____ooO_( )_Ooo___________________________

_____|_____|_____|_____|_____|_____|_____|__|

___|____|_____|_____|_____|_____|_____|____|

_____|_KILROY_WAS_HERE_|____|_____|____|

Last edited by a moderator:
The only thing I see in the service manual about this adjustment is under error code SH_ _ 66. Maybe it will work for you.

It says you can manually adjust the clutch engagement point to 21 engine speed settings. The initial setting varies on different bikes.

To adjust up by 100-150 revs, shift the hand shifter up 4 times. After you've operated the switch, your hand shift select indicator light should come on for "0.6 seconds."

To adjust downward, do the same thing, but down shifting 4 times. After you operate the switch, the light should come on for "0.3 seconds."