When Planning a Trip, What Resources Do You Use?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smilin' Kyle

Reaction score
[SIZE=12pt]I've done some rides to places in Washington state and Oregon. Now, it's time to start thinking about planning to see my kine in Oklahoma and Texas.[/SIZE]

What programs do you use to map out your trip and make hotel or camping plans?

I've never thought of camping; I've always done the Motel 6 or Super 8. However, camping has been a growing interest of mine. I assume I can save some money, too.

Finally, routes. There's going through Idaho, Utah, Calorado--the one I'm most familiar with while traveling in a car. However, there's going across Montana and the Dakotas, then droping down through Kansas.

I have zero experience with an extended trip like this but I'm carving out some time this summer. I have a National Geographic conference in Chicago mid July but will take the jet airliner. Riding into Chicago and having never been there before scared me off. Thanks for not giggling too loud.

BTW, I enjoy my FJR more now than when I first picked it up.

Thanks all.

I use Google maps (Google Maps) to plug in my start and finish locations and let Google tell me the optimum route. Then I drag the route till it suits my own requirements. You can also add intermediate stops to help get the routing the way you want it. You probably already know all that, but I'm just saying that's how I start. I don't travel with a GPS (on the bike), so I just memorize my route.