Problems with Pilot Road 2's?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fred W

1 Wheel Drive
FJR Supporter
Reaction score
I didn't want to trash the Tire Group Buy Interest thread, even though (forum admin) Warchild already did!! :rolleyes:

So I figured we should probably start a separate discussion on the weak points that some folks are reporting (or have reported) on the Michelin Pilot Road 2 tires. I have no first hand experience with these tires, but would consider them for their high mileage if not for these recent reports, along with some old questions that have remained unanswered.

Quoting from the above referenced thread:

My PR2's on my FJR have a good 2000-3000 miles on them, but I can not wait to dump them now that they are well into their "bad period". I am going back to Avon Storms, personally.

I've had 2 sets of PR2s, in my experience the front tire goes long before the back. I've managed 6k out of the front at best. The rear lasts till about 8k for me. I can't speak for anyone else's experience, and I am certainly not a tire expert, but for me the bad period happens when the sides (I guess this is the dual compound?) gets to a point where it suddenly grinds off really quickly. Then the bike is just all over the road obviously in a really bad way.

Exactly so. Approaching 5900 miles on my PR2's, and I can not wait to dump them even with a good couple thousand miles of treadlife remaining. It's a struggling to maintain a decent line in fast sweepers; in the tight twisties, the bike is a complete mess - handling is all over the place. Bah.... :glare: these tires are outta here....
These recent reports have me a bit concerned that the multi-compound fronts are the problem.