Ebay HID

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

worldbound4now

Reaction score
A few years ago there was an HID thread that caught my attention regarding telescopic HID bulbs for the FJR. These kits were a cheap $110 kit from ebay as described in this thread.

I have been using these telescopic H4 HIDs without issue for the past 3+ years and they impressed me every dark evening I have ridden with them. I have no idea who the manufacturer was of my current kit and don't plan on looking for the brand name until I remove the old kit and install a new kit. The 4300K temperature color rating has been perfect and the telescopic bulb placement with proper aiming of the beam cast has provided a fantastic visibility improvement over the stock bulbs without the dark hole pattern seen with some of the shutter-type Hi/Lo HID kits discussed on this forum.

Alas, my cheap HID solution may finally be failing. Last night when riding home from work, I noticed a flicker type response from one of the bulbs. The right headlight bulb now has a more purple hue instead of the bright white color, and the noted drop in illumination of the right side of the road is quite high. On multiple on/off cycles the bulb seems to ignite properly but will slowly fade to the purple color over approximately 30-40 seconds time. I assume this indicates that the ballast is failing to regulate voltage properly, causing a higher color burn temp. Who knows, but the failure cause is really a moot point. Fully acknowledging that I got what I paid for in 2007, I'm going to replace the old setup entirely instead of trying to chase down replacement parts.