Throttle roll seems very stiff

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wonderdawg

Reaction score
As I am new to the FJR forums I have not found specific information about the throttle roll. I ride an older Yamaha XJ 900 Seca all the time and I just recently bought a used but well maintained 2005 Yamaha FJR 1300A. It just seems to me that the throttle roll on my FJR is very still as compared to the throttle roll on my old XJ 900. My throttle hand gets to be very tire after only 25/30 miles of ride time. Do I need to look into perhaps lubricating the throttle cable or something?

P.S. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

W. D.

I never had that problem. I bought mine used and it's possible the prev. owner did the throttle spring mod, I dunno. But many find a Throttle Rocker or Cramp Buster, or one of the many brands of throttle locks (I have a Vista Cruise) nice to have, too. Both are inexpensive.

I am down in Torrance and can show you how to release that spring anytime.

Send me a PM

R

Last edited by a moderator:
Depending on the miles, you may need to clean the throttle bodies. Dirty/sticky throttle bodies give exactly the same symptoms as a bad throttle cable.

Depending on the miles, you may need to clean the throttle bodies. Dirty/sticky throttle bodies give exactly the same symptoms as a bad throttle cable.
Thank you one and all for your in put, I really do appreciate it. This bike has just over 36k miles on her, but the previous owner was very detailed in the maintenance that he performed on it. I love this bike, and so far other than my right hand getting worn out I has been great.

Regards,

W. D.

I am down in Torrance and can show you how to release that spring anytime.

Send me a PM

R