v-strom hand guards on FJR

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fido T. Dog

Reaction score
I have a questions for those who have put the new v-Strom hand guards on a FJR(2010).

When you get the kit form a Susuki dealer, it comes with fasteners to fit the V-strom.

Do the same fasteners work with the FJR or do I need to sourse others?

Thank you.

When you get the kit form a Susuki dealer, it comes with fasteners to fit the V-strom.

They work, but the journals on the pivot pin for the calipers (levers) are slightly undersized so the calipers will be slightly looser. I've been running with the Suzuki hardware for nearly 3 years now. The loose calipers don't bother me in the least, but I suspect their wearing out the bushings abnormally.

I have been using the handguards for almost 4 years and use wire ties to hold the guards in place. In the summer I cut them off and then reinstall in the winter.

(semi) thread-jack: Does a Throttlemeister still work/function with the handguards?

I have been using the handguards for almost 4 years and use wire ties to hold the guards in place. In the summer I cut them off and then reinstall in the winter.
Wire ties, now your talking my language.

Do you have any pictures?
+1. Would love to see pics to make them a seasonal item.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have a questions for those who have put the new v-Strom hand guards on a FJR(2010).

Thank you.
You can ge the complete kit, hardward and handguards from FJR Goodies. I installed them on my 2009, they work and look great.

https://www.fjrgoodies.net/VStrom_Handguards_p/handguards.htm

They even include a link to the FJRTech site for installation instructions.

You can ge the complete kit, hardward and handguards from FJR Goodies. I installed them on my 2009, they work and look great.