FJR Top speed.

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

papaseven

Reaction score
For the first time since I got my 07 ae new in 2010 I finally got 1500 miles on it. Shoulder injury sidelined me for 2 years.

I had a chance to run it out and it pulled all the way to 140 in 4th gear. By my calculations this thing ought to run close to or over 165 but mine just quits at 150

It doesn't feel like a rev limiter but it has to be. Are these things cutting cylinders or just remapping at a specific RPM in high gear.

I've been riding for 41 years and I cant tell.

Thanks

Geno

An FJR's top speed will vary based on many factors. I've owned several Gen I FJRs and they all had different top speeds. And those can vary by bike set-up also. Whether bags are on, whether you have an aftermarket screen. Is screen up or down. Stuff like that. Then there are environmental factors like wind, temperature, elevation, and road incline or decline.

My top speeds measured by gps have been anywhere between 142 mph and 160 mph. None of those were limited by the FJR's rev limiter. An FJR's top speed is limited by available power and resistance. In my experience, the rev limiter kicks in around 10,500 rpm which you won't hit at max speed in 5th gear. Though on my lower geared Gen I the one time I hit 160 mph I was close. On Gen I FJRs, speeds over 150 mph or so you are past the 9,000 rpm redline. Typically, on the Gen Is I have owned, top speed by gps (speedo is always showing much higher) is around 147-154mph.

The times I have hit the rev limiter have been in lower gears while accelerating. 2nd or 3rd gear generally. I am assuming the rev limiter is the ecu cutting fuel on all cylinders, but I don't know that for sure.

Take your FJR and keep on accelerating in 2nd gear past the 9,000 rpm 'redline' and you will feel it when the rev limiter kicks in.