How do you use your Sena ?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aasland

Depleted
Reaction score
I've been using the Sena for several years. What we do is pair up all our units and then go ride; if someone has to communicate we do the tap, taptap, or taptaptap, then start blabbing. When done, tap to disconnect, and music/podcast/gps etc continues to stream to the unit.

From reading the manual, from what I understand, it appears that the other way to do it, is to pair, then go into a "conference" mode whereby one or more other units have open communication and then VOX controls whether the microphone is activated.

Is that how some of you are using the Sena? Just talk, and it gets broadcast to multiple riders, without having to do the tap-dance to connect? When the VOX times out (20 seconds?) do you just talk again to all the partners connected? And after it times out, does your music/gps resume streaming? And how well does the VOX work? Does wind/engine/exhaust noise activate it?

I so far have only used mine in "paired" mode also. As of the latest firmware, Sena units are able to communicate with "other popular units," which must include Scala and Interphone among others. Be interesting to know how well the non-Sena units work, both in paired mode and intercom/VOX (if at all).

I don't do any pairing with other riders, but I generally use my unit (SM5 with FM) to listen to music, radio, or take calls.

Just use our set for intercom, music and phone. Although I've upgraded to v5 firmware, haven't had time to play with new features yet. From what I understand, range is limited when intercom linking to non native Sena. Haven't checked out that either...

--G

Last edited by a moderator: