Rear Brake has no effect on 08 GenII

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodcycl

Reaction score
I'm far from a mechanical guy, but do prefer to change my own oil, plugs, and have even installed handlebars, exhaust, and similar over the years as a rider/owner. I haven't done much mechanically on my FJR other than plugs and oil. However, I got her out tonight and cleaned her up, checked tires, oil, battery, etc. so I can ride her for work tomorrow. When pressing my rear brake down ... there is little or no braking effect on the bike. Even if I pump it it barley makes a difference. I can essentially press the lever all the way down with hardly any braking.

She has about 16,000 miles on her.

What are the first steps or things to check? Any help is appreciated.

I have the Technical Owners User Guide to use so I can hopefully do most of what I will need.

How's the fluid look in the reservoir for the rear brake? The rear pads ok? Had the rear wheel off recently?

Last edited by a moderator:
Flush the brake fluids, you should be flushing every year. FYI they are linked so you will need to bleed the right lower caliper.

Was at a tech day and another guy had with an '08 had unresponsive rear brake. Flushed system and all good. Never determined what caused problem.

Once you check out the brakes and clean them up, new fluids, etc. you'll find the rear brake doesn't feel like it does much by itself. At least compared to 'real' linked brakes like a Honda ST or GL which put more juice to the front than the FJR does. Not that it's bad, you need to use the rear in conjunction with the fronts. That said, even though I say 'weak', once you are at speed, I have locked up the rear with a car tire and skidded it for considerable distance............. it just seems weaker at slower speeds (to me).