SPOT/SPOTWALLA Advice and Help

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PapaUtah

Reaction score
Bear with me, I am new to SPOT, as in 4 days ago I picked up my SPOT unit. So far I have the unit working. I can see myself on the findmespot(SPOT) maps page. Beyond this is where I need your advice and help.

I have created a Shared Page in SPOT that I am using as the data source for my SPOTWALLA(SW) maps. I have that page set as Private and have a password on it. I have linked that page to a trip I have created in SW. I have given SW the password for that page when I setup my account in SW.

Here are my questions. I want to have the SW page I have created for the Radman 1000 to be available to link to here on the forum. I have set that page up with no password and have it currently set as PRIVATE and no password for it. I have it set to start Friday morning and end Friday nite. Will this page keep my track after it expires and still be viewable? Or does my expiration date make it go into the internet bit bucket? I would like to have this page stay around as part of my documentation for my SS1000 for the IBA and anyone linking on it from the Radman 1000 thread.

I also have a second page setup for my family. It is basically the same page but is set as PRIVATE with a password. I have this page setup for the entire period of my trip so my family can keep tabs on my location for the entire time. Can I use the same SPOT page as my source for this map or do I need a second page dedicated in SPOT for this one?

Any other advice you can give me on making sure these things work right away for me would be appreciated.