New to me motorcycle dead - 2007AE

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bikerbuddha

Reaction score
The best and worst day of my life happened Wednesday, I bought first motorcycle. Whilst trailiering the bike home (because I am a noob), the transmission on the car went out.

Anyway, when I got home, I got the bike started once and then after my friends left and I wanted to move the bike to a better parking space, I walked it to a better space. I tried to start it a couple times and then a yellow light came on. Now battery is dead!

Any help would be appreciated!
not_i.gif
help.gif

Understand that I have exactly 20 miles of motorcycle riding experience (MSF Course) and 0 on this bike. So I will have limited knowledge of tools needed or common motorcycle terminology.

Chris

Are there any error codes being displayed on the display panel (ER followed by a number) or a SH number? If not then all that may be wrong is that you need a new battery. If it is the original battery it is old enough that it probably will not hold a proper charge anymore. It is normal to have to change out the battery after six to seven years just due to age and normal usage.

I saw a yellow light the last time I could get the bike to start, i think it was in an engine graphic, after that I have absolutely nothing.

Going to need more information Chris.

When you started the bike, was it just a quick start and stop without warming up the engine? FJRs are prone to flooding if they're not warmed up after a cold start.

--G