Nighthawk-Forums.com New River Rally - Fayetteville, WV 8/15 - 8/17

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DesignFlaw06

Reaction score
Some of you know I’m an Admin over at Nighthawk-Forums.com. Even though I no longer own a Nighthawk, I organize a rally each year. Not quite as large as any organized FJR event, but since the Nighthawk is no longer in production, our pool of members is much smaller. Plus NHF had a huge sever crash a couple months ago, resulting it to be freshly installed. I also bounce it around every year to a different spot and dates, so attendance varies. We had 10 this year. August 15-17, 2014 in Fayetteville, WV. This was originally written for the Nighthawk Forum, so there may be some unintentional references.

I left on Thursday morning, once my wife got out of work. Already had the trailer loaded with my bike, headed over to the east side of Michigan. A small logistics problem as our rig requires my truck and Nick’s trailer, which are 2.5 hours apart. But this isn’t unfamiliar to us as we have done this trick several times. We had a new recruit with us. Gary is an old friend from back home. He now lives a few miles away from Nick. He completed his MSF course in May and purchased a Nighthawk 650 shortly after.

Trip down was pretty uneventful. Made a stop at Iron Pony in Columbus, where Gary bought an Airhawk seat and bike cover. I picked up a new set of gloves and a Pinlock insert. For those of you that haven’t been to Iron Pony, it is a Walmart size store of just motorcycle stuff. This is the second time I’ve been there. Not overly impressed either time. They carry many brands, but not much stock in each brand. It was useful for finding accessories though. I bought a helmet bag last time. Have plenty of luggage options. But prices aren’t very competitive for the most part. Not sure we’ll go back.