friction zone

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TXFJR

Reaction score
I don't know if I'm posting in the correct section.

I have ridden on/off since I was 15, I am almost 50 now. I "thought" I knew how to ride, but I am realizing I don't know as much as I thought I did! I was off a bike for approximately 6 years, and just recently got back into it, on a 2011 FJR. I read as much as I could, and watched as many you tube videos as I could. When I started riding my FJR, I realized what a heavy bike it was, and how my skills were not up to par. I have always admired motor officers, and their skill on bikes, and especially low speed maneuvering. So, I have a question for all experienced riders and, in particular, former or current motor officers. I am a 22 year veteran LEO, but never had the opportunity to ride motors, but always wish I had, and have GREAT respect for motor officers.

I started practicing slow maneuvers, especially u-turns, and started using the "friction zone" of slipping the clutch, giving it throttle, and using the rear brake. In just 15 minutes, I saw a great improvement of my control of the bike, and my confidence. But my question is this:

Am I doing damage to my clutch by "feathering" it , or riding that "friction zone"? I am willing to give up miles of service on my clutch for the purpose of having better control of my top-heavy beast, but I want to go into knowing if I am doing excessive damage to the clutch?

any tips or advice on learning slow speed maneuvering would be greatly appreciated!

No. Generally wet clutches have no problems being "slipped" in that manner. Like everything else, moderation is the key but with the revs low you will do no damage.