Givi E52 or E55?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Burnspot

Who Me?
Reaction score
After years of running with a rack, I think I'm going to take a step towards a top case...the only problem is that I'm a top case newb and I can't decide on whether I want the E52 or E55. Some comments at Revzilla seem to indicate the E55 may have a quality control issue, but it is a nice case.

Honest opinions on either? I plan to pick up the case-specific Admore kit, so I'm guessing I wouldn't need any Givi lights correct? Gloss or matte finish? I would expect either of these to hold my XL Neotec right?

Yes, I'm going to use the SR357 frame kit.

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
I went with the 55. Two helmets will fit very nice. Go big or go home I say. What kind of QC issues was the 55 having? I got the Admore kit as well. I'm happy with the setup.

IMG_3217.jpg

I have the E52 on both my 06 and now 14 FJRs. Had Admore lightkit in both. Really liked the case/light combo. The E52 is just the right size for me. I put my backpack in it daily when going to work and then jacket goes it when I get to work. My full face Schubert C3 does fit in the E52 but is usually stored in side bag.

Bigger is always better (Damn it, we're Americans). I settled for a 53 when I found it new in the right color for $275. I'd rather have had the 55. I always feel like I struggle to get a helmet in the 53. I have to set it in just right or the lid hits the top of the helmet.

I also bought the E55 Tech like MedPilot shows above. Haven't convinced myself to spend the mony on the Admore light kit, yet. That just seems to be a lot of money for not a lot of materials.

I went with the 55. Two helmets will fit very nice. Go big or go home I say. What kind of QC issues was the 55 having? I got the Admore kit as well. I'm happy with the setup.
IMG_3217.jpg