Thinking About Running The FJR on Local Road Course

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have the opportunity to run my 2014 FJR ES on a local road course (amateur fun). My reservation comes from having to shell out $300 for racing leathers and boots to find out it is a bad idea. I am a competent 50 year old rider. I think it would be a blast but other than watch I have ZERO experience. BTW: After watching the R1 and Ninja laps, I am excited to see how the FJR compares. .

I would like to hear from forum members who have done this themselves. What was your experience like? Recommend or forewarn?

I've done "track days" twice, both times on rented bikes, R6s. First time: maybe the most fun I've ever had on a bike. Second time: damned glad I was on a rental, the damage to it was minimal (these are prepped for crashes), the damage to me more significant - sprained right-side ribs, front and back. Ouch! But I did see FJRs out there and they held their own.

If you run the FJR, I suggest removing all plastics and other items such as mirrors and windshield that could suffer in a get-off. Maybe even the headlight module, tail lights, etc. I would surely not run without frame sliders, and swing arm and fork sliders might be a good idea, too. If you have an older retired helmet, you might want to use that instead of risking your new $800 Shuberth or whatever. Make sure your gloves have full gauntlets that tighten very securely around your wrists. Take some food, snacks and plenty of hydrating fluids - water, gatorade...

Your 2014 is a pretty valuable device to risk this way. I know of no standard insurance that will cover damage on a race track. If only you had a 2003 with 238,000 miles... then, no biggy.

Some places allow good textile riding gear instead of full leathers, especially if the jacket will zip to the pants.