Leaking Brake Fluid

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BikerGeek99

Yeah, it's a concrete corn cob. So?
Reaction score
I could use some advice / guidance.

The bike: 2004, non-ABS, 112,000 miles. Hasn't been ridden since Tech Day in Owosso.

Sooze and I geared up a little while ago to take the FJR for a spin. On my pre-ride walk-around of the bike, I noticed some fluid on the right side of the front rim.

I'm not a great mechanic, but I do know that that isn't where brake fluid should be.

I noticed that the right caliper is "wet."

Did this just happen? Has it been like this for a while? Did Bust do something to my bike at Tech Day? I dunno - I got nothing here, but did also notice this splooge indicator on the plastic. This could be from the brake fluid escaping or just splooge 'cause I haven't washed the FJR since before going to Canada in 2013.

The only thing I have done to the bike is I swapped out aux light brackets so I had the dash panels off and just put 'em back on.

Any thoughts / advice would be appreciated. Due to life keeping me busy, I may not be able to check in on this thread for a couple of days but will pop in when I can.

TIA.

First step is to be very sure where the offending oil is coming from. Brake caliper or line = easy fix, just need some parts. Front fork = not terribly difficult either, just take a little longer.

FWIW, looks like a brake caliper re-seal is needed.

If you still wondering if the fluid in the top pic is brake fluid or fork oil, here's an easy test: just tap your finger into the fluid and taste it.

If it's the nastiest tasting thing you've about ever had it's brake fluid. Fork oil, well, just oily like salad dressing.