FJR Comfort vs. FZ6

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnP

Reaction score
I've been riding since 2001 and loved the FJR since it came out but never owned one. My current ride is a vStar 1300 cruiser which is super comfortable to me and my wife. Prior to that I owned a Yamaha FZ6. I had a lot of fun on that bike but it was always uncomfortable to me to ride anything over a couple of hours. If I rode all day I was in agony. I installed bar risers which put my torso fairly straight up and removed all pressure from my wrists. But my knees and mostly my butt always bothered me after prolonged riding. I tried using an airhawk seat cushion, and other seat pads but that did not help much.

By chance I test rode a cruiser at a Triumph deal demo day in 2010, because it was the only thing available when I got there, and I couldn't get over how comfortable it was. The combination of a big wide seat and floorboards was great. I found a vStar 1300 at a local dealer and got a great deal on a leftover. Bone stock the VStar is good for many hours of riding without any discomfort. Even leaning forward a little to reach the handle bars I'm still super comfortable. Of course the riding is not near a fun as was the FZ6 especially when I get into the mountains in NH and Vermont. I ended up selling the FZ6 as it just didn't make sense to keep a bike that was not comfortable to ride.