Guitar Lessons - I'm going to do it!

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mad German

Reaction score
Are there any guitarists here? How long have you been playing? What type of music do you play? Self taught or lessons?

I've been wanting to learn to play the guitar for ages, and have finally decided that this is the time. I've contacted the local music store and will be stopping by tonight to sign up. I'm not sure which instructor they'll pair me up with, however. From their web site, they have instructors that specialize in everything from speed metal to country. My goal is to eventually learn to play classic rock.

Any tips, suggestions, comments that I should ask for or look into when signing up?

Thanks!

dang ol' hippy...
flirt.gif

I took lessons with Jack Pearson. He and I became good friends and it was always a treat to meet the folks who would come for lessons. It was, and is, a pretty advanced crowd.

He has an on-line guitar academy at this url.

https://www.jackpearsonguitar.com

There is more material there than anyone could absorb in years of self study.

I see there is a quote from J. D. Simo on the home page. If you've ever seen J. D. play, you would never think that he would consider lessons. But J. D. is just one example of the myriad of professional players that stop and take a lesson with Jack when they're in Nashville.

I highly recommend him. And, not only is he one of the all time great guitarists, he's a really good guy. Very big heart. Very humble.

He's definitely one of the best.

Edit: A few other thoughts related to the OP.

There are lots of things to learn, and some are easily learned from books, or from experiment. But there are other things that are easy to miss. You may be lucky in that you don't have a lot of stuff to unlearn.