Possible transmission problems or?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grumpypoo

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm fairly mechanically inclined, but with transmissions i'm a total noob.

I think it might be a clutch issue, but let me know what you think.

The facts.

1. What gear does it happen in? 3rd or 4th

2. Any other gears? Nope

3. Main speed? Doesn't matter just has to be under heavy acceleration.

4. What happens?

1a. Be in 3rd or 4th and a higher RPM (say around 3K)

2a. WOT

3a. Feel the power of the back take off

4a. Feel like the clutch has let go

5a. Hear a hard metal sound and the bike takes off again

It's really hard to describe, but it's reproducible every time under the above conditions.

I'll go WOT and then it's like the clutch lets go and catches. All one quick motion. Maybe half a second?

I intend on a clutch soak this weekend (hopefully not a clutch replacement).

I'm not sure how the previous owner rode.

I ride moderately aggressive, but i'm not hurting anything.

1b. Car is manual

2b. Road many bikes

Never ruined a clutch yet (except when I was first learning and burnt one out in a year).

2b. Road many bikes
Rode*

Anyways another way to describe it and this may very well be the issue.

It's like 3rd and or 4th gear pops out then back in.

I did notice whenever I decelerate hard in 1st gear using the engine it will pop it to neutral.

This does not happen all the time, but it happens around 4K-5K RPMs on deceleration.

Couple of possibilities.