Just picked up my '14 FJR A

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jason92s

Reaction score
About a week ago, I found a '14 FJR A with about 3200 miles for sale. It was about 200 miles away, so I scheduled a day off work and made some plans. After an hour long 4:30am bus trip to Amtrak and then a 3 hour long train ride, I finally arrived in San Jose and completed all the paperwork.

WOW is all I can say. My background is almost entirely in off-road riding, either motocross or dual sport. I've been on a street bike twice in my life for about 15 minutes total. I will admit to being a little nervous about the long ride home, but within about 5 miles it was like the bike was made for me. I'm sure none this will come as a surprise to any of you, but I just can't believe how smooth the bike is. That's what impressed me the most. Absolutely no learning curve, even for a newbie like me. Even the wife agreed I made the right choice after a short ride when I got home. And boy is this thing comfortable!

Here's a pic of my boy on it after I got home.

IMG_2267.jpg

I also began on dirt bikes and had hardly ridden a street bike at all when I bought a Bandit 1200. I personally think learning on the dirt is the way to go. You can crash and learn without tearing up yourself or totaling your ride. I think those skills have helped me not panic in quite a few moments when a wrong choice could have taken me down.

Nice bike, enjoy!

I also began on dirt bikes and had hardly ridden a street bike at all when I bought a Bandit 1200. I personally think learning on the dirt is the way to go. You can crash and learn without tearing up yourself or totaling your ride. I think those skills have helped me not panic in quite a few moments when a wrong choice could have taken me down.
Nice bike, enjoy!