Considering FJR - Any Gen-X or years to steer clear of?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikePrent

Reaction score
I've been riding two wheels for about 40 years now, and I've had everything from dirt, trail, sportbikes, and finally supermoto. At the moment I own a DRZ400SM with 13k miles and absolutely love the bike around town, but as you would imagine, it's a horrible highway bike. At 70 mph the 400cc motor screams at the top of the rev range, no wind protection, no steering damper, and the aftermarket exhaust is deafening. I didn't purchase it for the highway, but based on my locale, I always find myself traversing some freeways to get home after a long day of meandering along the back roads.

So I've decided to seriously consider the FJR as my top contender. Really no others at this point. It has all the sportbike looks I'm looking for, all the creature comforts if I wanted to hit the open highway, and doesn't look like my grandfathers Goldwing.

With that being said, and my rough $5k budget, I'm going to be looking for an older/higher mileage bike. Are there any Gen/years to be careful with? I've found a couple 2007's with 30-50k miles that place me in that range. Anything I should stay away from or look for?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
Stay VERY clear of the following years: 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and even the 2016

They are all inferior to the 2005 !!!

Just stirring things up… But you must be in central Florida if you are doing off-road (?)

We are have a Ride To Eat (RTE) soon, stop by and meet some Florida riders and get many different opinions of the best years of FJR models.

Info here: RTE Central Florida for June - Southeast - FJRForum