Throttle position sensor symptom 16es

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joel S.

Reaction score
hey all, chasing a problem here, The symptom is a big lurch, hesitation, surge, like turning the bike off. past the throttle point, the bike runs great, seems to happen when the tac is about 3k, maintaining very light throttle. it's not a misfire or anything, but a big off then on, smooth cutting in and out,

I did the brake fluid flush, and jumping the abs to actuate the pump, at that time i felt the battery cables, looked clean and tight, no other electrical issues. The bike has about 24k miles, so if it was the programming fuel cut, i figure i would have felt it before this year. i have ordered the obd2 cable so i can watch live data, i have a couple nice scanners and a bluetooth one also.

My background is a 25 year ase master mechanic, cars and light trucks. i do have the YES extended warranty but thinking sweeping or recording a test ride, then replacing the sensor if bad will be much better for me than doing the dealer battle, 2,4,6 weeks to possibly correctly diagnose, replace, and confirm the repair while not charging me for things that do not fix the issue. It sounds easy enough, but this location sure doesn't seem to do well with dealer service.

does these symptoms sound like i'm on the right track ?? still newer to fjr compared to others, i do have the service manual,
smile.png
i have done forum searches and reading, and it seems like a good probability.

thanks so much for any time or advise here. i greatly appreciate it.

Joel

Last edited by a moderator:
You got it. Sent you a pm.

Too bad mama yama hasn't fixed this yet.
fool.gif