06 coolant flush PIA

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mogambo

Reaction score
I did a number of different searches on this, but nothing came up with satisfactory info. Has anybody else noticed what a PIA doing a coolant change on the 06 FJR is. I'm no mechanical wizard, but damn, I can't even find where the reservoir drain is! Doing the FJR "blowjob" on the 04 was a piece of cake. I'm a bit stymied on how to do this with the 06. I even have the shop manual. Anybody have any tips on what the dealio is on this?

Pages 3-25, 26, 27 provide all the details you should need. You have to remove the coolant reservoir and dump the coolant.

Doing the blow job is not worth anything. Just drain the old coolant and put in new coolant.

Thanks Mesh. I re-looked. Not as much of a pain in the ass as I originally thought. Still a pain,but not as bad. They just moved my cheese and I didn't want to adapt.

So thie FJR "blowjob" doesn't do squat, aye? So I used to go through all of that for nothing? Gheez, and I thought I was doing something really healthy for the bike. L A L

Jestal commented about the value of attempting to get all the old coolant out before putting new coolant in. He said it wasn't worth the trouble. In fact after all the gymnastics you could likely end up with coolant in the system that was more than 50% distilled water.

So his final comment was don't bother with flushing out the system. Just drain all the coolant the way the manual suggests and then put in new coolant.

Jestal commented about the value of attempting to get all the old coolant out before putting new coolant in. He said it wasn't worth the trouble. In fact after all the gymnastics you could likely end up with coolant in the system that was more than 50% distilled water.