Buzz/Whine/Vibration-My '07 Has it All!

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jrh1230

Reaction score
Ok, I am a newbie and I've searched the forum for references to whining, buzzing, and general vibration. I've seen posts concerning only buzzing (TBS), and others concerning only whining noises (straight-cut gearing and/or insufficient final drive lube?)

I just took my new '07 out for its first run in the NC mountains today! Awesome! However, one thing that I am concerned about is that the driveline whine actually manifests itself as more than just a noise. Particularly at about 70 mph, the pegs (and to a lesser extent the bars) buzz dramatically. Think of a really large electric motor. That's what this bike reminds me of.

The obvious question is, is it normal to feel a dramatic, buzzing vibration through the pegs/bars at particular RPMS, that SEEM TO BE CAUSED BY THE FINAL DRIVE, THE TRANNY, OR BOTH? I like the NOISE of straight-cut gears but the dramatic vibration is a bit unsettling, at least until I can prove that there is no problem.

I know it sounds like the same question all over again but... B)

jrh., i have an `07 and I also benefit from 4 yrs of 1st generation ownership...let me tell ya strait, the high frequencies u feel (unless there is something seriously wrong with yer unit, which I doubt) come with the platform. It`s a resonance, from the engine, travelling through the frame. It is my personal experience that, as the bike ages, the problem lessens/you get used to it. Whine? What the hell...some people like the "turbo" sound. Always better than the neighbors complaining! :yahoo:

I experience the vibration and whine on my '07 as well. BUT, it is nothing compared to my Electraglide. You want to experience vibration and noise, then spend a day on that bike, you'll come to appreciate the FJR even more.

JRH,