07 Overheating

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Concours

Reaction score
I'm new to the FJR, but lots of miles on other bikes...anyway, 07 FJR has a problem, I'm just not sure how serious.

Bike as just over 600 miles on it, primarily back and forth to work (other bike is getting all the riding until my wife heads out of town). No problems until this morning. I made my normal 13 mile freeway ride to work, and as I pulled into my parking space I noticed the temp gauge jump up from the middle to almost the top in literally the blink of an eye. I had ear plugs in so I couldn't tell if the fan was running or not, so pulled the helmet off quick and the fan was running...first time since I bought the bike. I turned the bike off and then turned the key back on and the fan continued to run.

Did my 11 hours and then checked the bike over before heading home. Coolant level was okay. Bike ran fine, but by the time I got about 5 miles toward home the temp gauge was pegged, but not flashing, and I could hear the fan running (no ear plugs going home). Finished the ride home, pulled in the driveway, and left the bike running. Fan was running, and gauge was pegged, but again not flashing. Heat coming off the bike though didn't feel any hotter than normal. I turned off the bike and then turned the key back on...fan came back on, but it cut in and out...it would run strong and then almost stop and then run fast for a while and then cut almost off again.

I'm getting ready to take the bike in for initial service, but I was wondering if any of you have had a similar problem and what the fix might be? I'm thinking it's actually not overheating, but possibly a sensor has went bad or a connection has come loose in turn sending a bad signal to the gauge and the controller for the fan.