Comparison of mapping programs

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wfooshee

O, Woe is me!!
Reaction score
Some months back I posted this on the upstart forum and intended for it to get here, too, because many people play in one box or the other but not both. Somehow I never did it, and I've just realized that. So, a 4-month-late cross-post.

I've been using a mapping program and a GPS receiver for several years now, and I thought I'd put together some of what I know about them. I've seen a lot of "Which one should I get" and "How do I move this to this?" type of questions, and maybe what I know might help somebody, hard as that is to believe.

It's happened before. Really. And I would very much like to hear anything anybody has to say if I've misrepresented any of the programs or misunderstood a procedure.

Apologies in advance for the length of these posts. It's a lot of stuff and I wanted to be reasonably thorough while not actually going menu by menu, tool by tool. I'm not documenting the programs, I'm showing how a motorcyclist might want to use them.

I'm not going to go into different GPS devices, show you which has what features and which is best, because I don't have a bunch of devices or a bunch of money. I have a Garmin 2610 that I bought from buy.com last year for under 200 bucks, and to me it's the greatest thing since sliced bread. It can't speak street names, doesn't have Bluetooth, and MP3 player, or satellite radio, but it's a top-line unit of its day, and still a quite capable unit. Major downside is no detail maps resident, you have to load those from Mapsource, and you need a 2 gigabyte memory card to hold the whole country. With the 128 megabyte card that came with it, you'll be loading and unloading regional detail maps frequently, depending on where you're going.