Engine and Luggage Guards?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jpridesdfw

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a total FJR newbie, have just picked up a 2013 and have a ton of questions. It is a heavy beast though rides like a dream. First order of business is to buy/install something to protect the bike, in event of a tip over. Canyon Cages seem to be very popular though I've noticed some are opting for T-Rex. I suspect it's too much to hope that someone has had both (unless on different bikes) that can offer a direct comparison so I'll ask for input on whatever you've installed. I would be extremely grateful for your thoughts on pros and cons on whatever you have ( or had) on your bike. Looking specifically for things like ease of installation, rugged construction, if you tipped over or dropped how did they protect the bike, can you add foot pegs and most importantly if you had to do it over again would you choose the same solution? I know, lots of questions but as I said......I'm a newbie so hopefully you'll take pity on me! This is a great forum and I'm just hoping to learn from this groups wisdom. Thanks in adavance, Jeff

2012 - had sliders and MC Ent bag guards. Highly recommend MC Ent. Good product, robust build quality, great customer support. Survived going over three times, just a little touch up. The sliders, not impressed, but they did mitigate some frt damage.

2016 - went with T-Rex cages instead of sliders, and MC Ent bag guards again. The tubing sizes dont match, 7/8 vs 1", but I liked the look of the T-Rex product with the slimmer tubing for the front, and didnt really like the look of the T-Rex bag guard with the plastic bumper.

T-Rex is cheaper than Canyon Cages I think. T-Rex and MC Ent products easy to install.

If you go with MC Ent, check their web site and Amazon, the price may not be the same, wasnt for me.