Help- Power commander install

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blue2006kcj

Reaction score
So Ive look at several of the threads on the forum and realize that I need the power commander to relieve the throttle issue on my 06 FJR. Unfortunately, I think this is beyond my abilities at this time, but I would like to learn about doing his kind of thing. (Just got the fjr 2 weeks ago an didnt do work on my old C50 so Im a noob at maintenance items.) So, would someone be willing to help me learn by directing me and Id be willing to pay you. I live in High point NC and i cant do it for a couple weekends anyway. Camping with my boys this weekend and have to take my older sons stuff down to college next Saturday. Maybe Saturday Aug 25th.

I'd get a G2 throttle tamer first - the issue with the 2006/2007 is the funky shape on the throttle body cable sector. A throttle tamer will cancel that out. Another option is to get a TB set off a 2008 or later bike and swap the whole thing.

I do have a PC-V on my 2006 and it did make the bike run better everywhere but the G2 did more off idle (for less money).

If you still want the PC, it is a very easy install, BTW.

Last edited by a moderator:
The issue is especially prominent when shifting from 3rd to 2nd and the bike kinda jumps when u roll on the throttle. Rather disturbing when trying to take a corner. Ive seen it described much better in some of these threads, none of which I can remcall at the moment. Im also willing to start with the g2 throttle but being a noob not quite sure what to buy. Looked at a web site which just had a throttle and I wasnt sure how that would make a difference