Jump to content


Photo

Barbarian Jumper Modification for Gen II bikes


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#41 MojaveFJR

MojaveFJR

    FJR Squadron Leader

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rosamond, CA
  • 2008 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 13 April 2008 - 02:33 PM

QUOTE (rushes @ Apr 11 2008, 11:42 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
It's a done deal. Just for the record, mine was set at all 10's.
One little note: If the white plastic retainer doesn't want to go back in, check to make sure the other wires that you didn't move didn't slide up a bit.



Ya gotta jiggle it but it will seat back in there. Also may want to try twisting the wire a bit and pushing it in further. Had the same issue till trying this, then click. done.




QUOTE (mfletch69 @ Apr 7 2008, 04:43 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (MojaveFJR @ Apr 7 2008, 06:22 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Guess I will be figuring that out soon enough.


I am VERY curious as to your new MPG's. huh.gif



Absolutely no effect on MPG over the long haul.

Bike is still running sweet.

#42 henrywatts

henrywatts

    FNG

  • Members+
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:Sunnyvale, CA
  • 2006 ABS (Gen II) World

Posted 18 November 2008 - 08:50 PM

1. Thanks for all who put this together for Gen II

2. There were a couple of photo captions on the Gen I writeup that showed a jumper resistor and (in a different photo) a jumper wire. This was called the Barbarian *Jumper* mod.

3. However, in the Gen I writeup, there was a lot of detail about getting the pin out, and swapping the wire from one hole to another, but essentially no writing about installing the jumper. Just those photos.

4. Now on the Gen II writeup we have no mention of jumpers between pins, just the swap. In a document that seems extremely thorough and well-done.

Questions:

A. Is "jumper" a misnomer?
B. Was there any jumpering on Gen I?
C. If there was jumpering on Gen I, why no text about it?
D. If there was no jumpering on Gen I, what are the two photos about?
E. If there is jumpering on Gen II, why isn't it in the writeup?

Sorry for all the questions. I'm eager to do this, but a bit paranoid about doing something dumb to the electronics.

Thanks to anyone who cares to clarify.

/hank watts

#43 BulletBrad

BulletBrad

    Training Pilot

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bloomfield, CT
  • 2007 ABS AE (Gen II) N. America

Posted 28 December 2008 - 08:23 AM

To Jon and Duff, MANY THANKS for the instructions and the link. I was thinking of doing this to my 07 1300AE and since the fog was so think I couldn't see the end of the driveway this morning I did it. Once done and the bike fully warmed up it sounded and rev'd so smooth in the garage. yahoo.gif Weather dudes up here say almost 60 this afternoon so I'll get her out this afternoon to see what it's like on the road. For those thinking of doing this mod, it really is super easy if you just take your time and find all them little clips.
2007 FJR1300AE
2008 Piaggio MP3 400EI used to video my FJR
2001 Yamaha Vino 50 for the Grandsons.
1973 Lotus Europa used when the snow is deep ;<)
In the words of a great Vulcan "Live long, PROCRASTINATE"

#44 Gizmo

Gizmo

    FJR Pilot

  • Members++
  • PipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chagrin Falls, OH
  • 2007 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 04 January 2009 - 05:27 PM

Very well documented...Thanks for putting this together. I've made a mental note on where to return to if I do this mod...
2007 A
2007 Suzuki M50
Send lawyers, guns and money

#45 FJRGuy

FJRGuy

    FJR Rally Addict! :D

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,354 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, AB
  • 2007 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 06 January 2009 - 10:32 AM

Much thanks for the well prepared instructions!

I'm understanding that this mod does not change anything but the ability to access the CO settings. Therefore fully reversible with no latent effects. Is this correct?
(Like Henry, I'm a little paranoid about doing this. Not my area of expertise!)
Jeff

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#46 TILAM

TILAM

    FJR Pilot

  • Members++
  • PipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton Ontario Canada
  • 2006 ABS (Gen II) World

Posted 06 January 2009 - 02:33 PM

Yes they are reversible. That's why you write down the original settings in case you screw it up.
I've been down but not out.

#47 redcat

redcat

    FNG

  • Members+
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk
  • Other or considering FJR

Posted 07 October 2009 - 02:15 AM

I had the ECU on an 07 replaced under recall - the altitude thingy.
Can somebody confirm that the Barbarian jumper mod is still the same for the new replacement ECU's following this recall.
Thanks

#48 chrisflock

chrisflock

    FJR nose gunner

  • Members++
  • PipPipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:La Crosse, WI
  • 2007 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 09 October 2009 - 08:25 AM

QUOTE (redcat @ Oct 7 2009, 05:15 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I had the ECU on an 07 replaced under recall - the altitude thingy.
Can somebody confirm that the Barbarian jumper mod is still the same for the new replacement ECU's following this recall.
Thanks


That was covered in previous posts, answer is YES, most people have been doing this mod AFTER getting a the recall ECU.
When life throws you an unexpected curve, try to get your knee down.
I think all kids go through a phase where they think motorcycles are cool. The lucky ones never grow out of it.

#49 FJRGuy

FJRGuy

    FJR Rally Addict! :D

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,354 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, AB
  • 2007 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 09 October 2009 - 09:20 AM

Still haven't gotten around to doing this but just had an interesting thought/question...

If you preform the mod, change the settings, then reverse the mod, does it revert to the original settings or are the new settings 'locked' in the memory?

Just curious... unsure.gif
Jeff

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image


#50 ionbeam

ionbeam

    2 FUN

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,995 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sandown, NH
  • 2004 ABS (Gen I) N. America

Posted 09 October 2009 - 10:56 AM

QUOTE (henrywatts @ Nov 19 2008, 12:50 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
1. Thanks to everyone who put the procedures together for Gen II

2. There were a couple of photo captions on the Gen I writeup that showed a jumper resistor and (in a different photo) a jumper wire. This was called the Barbarian *Jumper* mod.

3. However, in the Gen I writeup, there was a lot of detail about getting the pin out, and swapping the wire from one hole to another, but essentially no writing about installing the jumper. Just those photos.

4. Now on the Gen II writeup we have no mention of jumpers between pins, just the swap. In a document that seems extremely thorough and well-done.

Questions:

A. Is "jumper" a misnomer?
B. Was there any jumpering on Gen I?
C. If there was jumpering on Gen I, why no text about it?
D. If there was no jumpering on Gen I, what are the two photos about?
E. If there is jumpering on Gen II, why isn't it in the writeup?

QUOTE (FJRGuy @ Oct 9 2009, 01:20 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
...If you preform the mod, change the settings, then reverse the mod, does it revert to the original settings or are the new settings 'locked' in the memory?

First, John from 11/08:

1. (yes, thanks to all for the Gen II instructions)

2. The early Gen I's had a Yellow/Red wire that was in a jumper configuration on the ECU connector. The picture from the Gen I ECU connector in the procedure makes it look like there are two different Y/R wires, but in fact the Y/R wire is a jumper. One end of the jumper was moved to enable the CO diAG screen. You can see the Y/R jumper in the ECU schematic below (item 24). Just above the ECU you can see the connector with the Y/R wire in pin location 25 & 27 and the plug in pin hole 29 (the X) (located bottom row, right end).



3. The later Gen I's like my '04 did not have the Y/R wire at all. I sent pictures and instructions for H. Marc to post along with Torch and Barbarian's how-to. H. Marc only paraphrased my instructions and didn't include verbatim details. As there was no Y/R wire a jumper at all, a jumper had to be made then pushed into the holes at pin #25 & #29. Being a pioneer on later Gen I Barbarian Jumpers I chose to use a 22k resistor to ensure that no mater what the ECU would not be harmed. In the text that did not make it to the FJR1300 tech article I stated that it was OK to use a piece of wire in place of the resistor. The new wire would work better if it were stranded, and the ends should be stripped to a surprisingly long 1/2" to reach all the way into the female sockets in the ECU side connector. I additionally suggested tie-wrapping the jumper to adjacent wires to hold it in place in addition to the locking white clip that is part of the connector.

4. The Gen II does not have a jumper, only one wire that gets moved to enable the CO diAG screen. When the Y/R wire is placed in pin hole #25 the voltage on the Y/R wire tells the ECU to enable the CO screen.

A. The '03 had a jumper and it was called out correctly in the original how-to. The '04 did not have a jumper or wire and a jumper had to be fabricated.
B. The Y/R jumper already existed in the '03 (see # 2. above)
C. There is no jumper associated with the Gen 2 ECU, only a single wire to be moved.
D. Already explained about the jumper in # 4. above.
E. No jumper so no explanation.

==========================
FJRGuy:

The CO values are held in permanent memory in the ECU, once the values are set or changed the ECU will retain them even if the battery is disconnected. All the jumper wire or wire relocation does is enable the CO Setting Menu on the diAG screen. You could remove the jumper after altering the CO values and all would be OK. But, why remove the jumper, if it isn't hurting anything?

Bad decisions make for good stories.


#51 pso

pso

    FNG

  • Members+
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Easton, Md
  • Other or considering FJR

Posted 12 June 2010 - 01:40 PM

I don't even own a FJR (yet), but this write up makes me want to go out and borrow one just to do this. Maybe one day once Y get the spider thing under control.

#52 rushes

rushes

    .

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,828 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dean Springs, AR
  • 2008 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 12 June 2010 - 03:05 PM

QUOTE (pso @ Jun 12 2010, 04:40 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I don't even own a FJR (yet), but this write up makes me want to go out and borrow one just to do this. Maybe one day once Y get the spider thing under control.

There's modifications for that too...
Even more fun!
You're a tinkerer ain't ya?
Jump in!
smile.gif

#53 HawkWing

HawkWing

    Training Pilot

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Middle Tennessee
  • 2008 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 27 September 2011 - 04:00 PM

Just modified my '08 with the Barbarian Jumper over the weekend. Also, UA TBS per Fred. Reset original CO settings of 10 up 7 to 17. The difference is amazing! Great throttle response, smooth acceleration, idle, and cruising rpm. Don't know which did what, but TBS and BJM come highly recommended from this jackleg. The procedure was easy- great directions; thanks Jon et al.

#54 someguy

someguy

    FJR Pilot

  • Members++
  • PipPipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chattanooga TN
  • 2010 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 01 November 2011 - 04:10 PM

so i have a 2010.
love it.
keep reading about the jumper...

any reason i should do this mod?

any downside to doing it?
1980's Suzuki DR400, 1986 Suzuki GSXR 750, 1969 Harley Davidson shovel head, 1993 HD electraglide, 2004 Honda VFR and the list goes on
2010 FJR (sublime)

#55 John d

John d

    FJR Trail Finder

  • Members++
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Normandale, ON
  • 2008 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 01 November 2011 - 05:31 PM

Just modified my '08 with the Barbarian Jumper over the weekend. Also, UA TBS per Fred. Reset original CO settings of 10 up 7 to 17. The difference is amazing! Great throttle response, smooth acceleration, idle, and cruising rpm. Don't know which did what, but TBS and BJM come highly recommended from this jackleg. The procedure was easy- great directions; thanks Jon et al.

I think you should try setting the CO settings back to 10 to see how much difference the UA TBS made. In my opinion the UA TBS provides better results than changing the CO settings. Higher CO settings will also in result in lower fuel mileage, or at least it did on my '08. If you don't like the results try stepping up the CO settings 1 or 2 at a time instead of 7 all at once.

EOM2012Signature.pngSEOhioRamble.gif CFR 2011


#56 s.ga.rider

s.ga.rider

    Training Pilot

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Georgia
  • 2007 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:19 PM

Can you still get the instructions for this? I can find anything thats still active.

#57 SilverHound

SilverHound

    FJR Pilot

  • Members++
  • PipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eastern PA
  • 2014ES (Gen III) N. America
  • 2008 A (Gen II) N. America

Posted 01 May 2012 - 09:29 PM

Can you still get the instructions for this? I can find anything thats still active.


Here you go...link from Post #9 Clicky Here
"It is impossible to make people understand their ignorance; for it requires knowledge to perceive it and therefore he that can perceive it hath it not." - Jeremy Taylor

#58 HendR1ck

HendR1ck

    Training Pilot

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mountain Home, Idaho
  • 2008 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 02 May 2012 - 01:17 PM

Did it; LOVE it!!

Thanks for the "Clicky" link.

All 4 of my settings were set at "10" as well. Is that pretty normal?
US Air Force since June 1989
MSF RiderCoach since April 2005

#59 RossKean

RossKean

    FJR Commander

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,668 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericton, NB
  • 2007 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 02 May 2012 - 01:28 PM

Did it; LOVE it!!

Thanks for the "Clicky" link.

All 4 of my settings were set at "10" as well. Is that pretty normal?


It seems that there is some variation. Haven't done it but have read about a number that were all 10's and others that seemd to vary quite a bit from one cyl to another. Don't know how they set it up at the factory - presumably by putting the exhaust on a meter and adjusting to get the "right" CO.

100K%2007CLUB.jpg    groundspider.jpg


#60 Fred W

Fred W

    Flatus Antiquous

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern NH
  • 2014ES (Gen III) N. America

Posted 02 May 2012 - 01:41 PM

Actually, it seems that these "settings" are done 'en masse. The Yamaha engineers may take a few bikes off the line and actually make some CO measurements on those, but then once they feel they have come up with some good numbers, they just use the same exact ones on an entire batch of bikes. Most are the same through an entire model year.

The first gens all had numbers that escalated from left to right. Folks thought that might have something to do with the restrictions of the air path inside the air cleaner. It wasn't until around 2008 that we started to see 10's straight across. Not sure why they changed it, but without having gas ports in each individual exhaust line (before the cats) it would be pretty hard to get any really accurate setting.

-Fred W                 nerd.gif    <----  (Click me!)      We're just getting started...    VisitedStatesMapIcon.jpg