Back Rest Options

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slo-ride

slo-ride
Reaction score
My wife has requested a backrest for our long rides on my 2007 FJR. I've been searching around and I'm more than a bit startled at the prices. I've gone to the trouble of designing my own backrest/rack using 3D CAD (I'm a design engineer) but having one of my own designs built in a quantity of one at any fab shop is more expensive than most aftermarket dealers (group purchase anyone?). Below are the after market back rests that I have found. For some, like Sargent and Corbin, the back rest can not be mounted independently of the manufacturer's rear seat so they must be purchased together. What I've listed below is the minimum cost it takes to get the back rest.

$365.00, Pirates Lair: (Backrest Only) https://piratesk12site.net/YamahaStealth.htm

$438.00 Corbin: (Backrest & Required Passenger Seat) https://www.corbin.com/yamaha/yfjr13_mod.shtml

$581.00, Sargent (Backrest & Required Passenger Seat Only) https://shopping.netsuite.com/s.nl?c=415638...610&whence=

$245.00, Premier Cycles (Backrest Only) https://www.premiercycleaccessories.com/Pas...est_p/12001.htm

$378.00, Premier Cycles (Backrest with integrated sport touring rack) https://www.premiercycleaccessories.com/Pas...est_p/12001.htm

Some of these designs use a smooth leather seat which does not match the FJR's stock seat. I want mine to match (who wouldn't). Premire Cycle's backrest with integrated sport touring rack seems like the most bang for the buck but the material used on the pad does not match my stock seating material. Does Premier offer other materials (no, I haven't contacted them yet).

Thanks!