Oil leak on the fork

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stioc

Reaction score
I noticed some clean, oil on the shiny part of the right front fork, I wiped it off, grabbed the front brake lever and bounced the front end a bit and sure enough some more oil. I take it the forks need new seals and probably due for oil replacement too? Second I'm wondering how big of a job it is fixing the leak and if it's something I can tackle myself? I've swapped clutches, differentials and engines on cars so I'm ok turning wrenches but I'm fairly new to the M/C world.

Before you get too carried away pop off the rubber part by the seal. then take a piece of old 35 film negatives and slip it down in the seal to try to "clean" out any debris (just slide it down along side of the chrome). I cut a slight hook or J shape to the film. my bike sat for about 2 months and I had the same issue as you did and this worked for me...at least it hasnt leaked for 3 months now. wouldnt hurt to give it a try.

Thanks guys. I'll try the sealmate fix, just not sure how long it's been like this and how much oil is left :blink:

I cut out some thin plastic in the shape of the Sealmate tool and was able to stop a leak in my right fork. I'm going to be doing some fork maintenance, but this lets me scale that back to just changing oil. I'll install new o-rings and oil seal while I'm there. Very inexpensive.

Last edited by a moderator:
Tom, any pics of the plastic cut-outs? The sealmate tool is pretty inexpensive but it's the whole place-the-order-and-wait deal I don't like.

Also do you not have to disassemble the forks to change or refill the oil? I've never taken them apart myself.

Also do you not have to disassemble the forks to change or refill the oil? I've never taken them apart myself.