Jump to content


Photo

throttle cables


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 lunch truck larry

lunch truck larry

    Training Pilot

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, OH
  • Bike: 2007 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 02 April 2012 - 03:29 PM

2007 FJR ,just installed MCL's triple tree bar risers ,Really nice ,didn't have any trouble drilling out security bolts on ignition ,BUT throttle cables are really tight. Is there a special tool needed to remove throttle cables from hand controls ?? I saw someone who re-routed their throttle cables for more slack. Is this hard or can I do it myself??

Lunch truck Larry

#2 wfooshee

wfooshee

    O, Woe is me!

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Panama City, FL
  • Bike: 2003 (Gen I) N. America

Posted 02 April 2012 - 03:43 PM

Just remove the two Philips screws holding the housing onto the bar.
Darksider #18

Are you the reason I'm so far above average?
I'm always right, yet it continues to surprise people! How can that be?

#3 Burnspot

Burnspot

    Who Me?

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rocky Mount, NC
  • Bike: 2007 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 02 April 2012 - 03:43 PM

I have an MCL riser and it didn't create any issues with the cables; they move pretty free lock to lock. I'd double check to make sure you don't have something hanging them up.

#4 LAF

LAF

    FJR Commander

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Harrisburg, PA
  • Bike: 2010 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 03 April 2012 - 03:49 AM

I have an MCL riser and it didn't create any issues with the cables; they move pretty free lock to lock. I'd double check to make sure you don't have something hanging them up.

+1
Check your routing. Did you cut the cage wire that holds them in place for slack? No issues on my 10.

#5 Bustanut joker

Bustanut joker

    STFU

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,962 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Owosso, MI
  • Bike: Other or considering FJR

Posted 03 April 2012 - 06:01 AM

Ummmm, He didn't reroute the cables guys.. I suspect the raising of the bars is causing binding now as it did when I installed the 1 inch risers.
Just cut that wire cable clamp..
Posted ImagePosted Image Posted ImagePosted Image Los Robustos M/C member #18 Darksider #28

#6 Chuck35

Chuck35

    FJR Commander

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South of Atlanta
  • Bike: 2008 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 11 May 2012 - 03:59 PM

I had to reroute my cables behind the brake lines. It added a lot of slack.

IBA #59846

FJR Darksider #72

 

 

Visited_States_Map_small.jpg