shift snick or shift clunk

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cctxfjr

Reaction score
How is an FJR suspose to shift-with a snick or a clunk? My 06 clunks 80% of the time regardless of which gear I am in. I can use different methods and it seems to have no effect whether it clunks or shifts smoothly. I have a lot of early years experience on bikes and the ones from Japan always shifted smoothly. My Dad was a BMW dealer when I was a youth and I rode a lot of different bikes and remember the Harleys and BMW shifting with a clunking noise. The bikes from England and Japan shifted quitely and smoothly. Is their something wrong with my bike or is this normal on the FJR?

Love the clunk. Feel the clunk. Beeeeee the clunk. Welcome to FJR ownership.

Last edited by a moderator:
clunk into first, then snick, snick, snick, snick upshifting, unless I really blow the RPMs. All Downshifts clunk unless RPMs perfectly matched.

How many miles ,anything under 10,000 probably is not even run in .

Oil changes help as most oiles are not designed for gearbox use as well as engine use . they do not like the high " shear loads of gears. Shell makes a good disel oil ( do not remember the name in the USA ,this has a high shear capability .

I have said it before but try NULON treatment it works and has worked for thirty years for me ,if you can not get some I have a mate out from the states riding around Australia ,he is taking some back so I can get him to send it to you.

Mine clunks 90% from 1st to 2nd and back. Smooth from 2nd on up. 05 ABS with 8k on it. I did notice that when I flushed the clutch reservoir and adjusted the throttle slack, it got alot better.

clunk into first, then snick, snick, snick, snick upshifting, unless I really blow the RPMs. All Downshifts clunk unless RPMs perfectly matched.