iPhone 5 as GPS?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Riona

Reaction score
I'm new to my FJR and new to the PNW. Result - getting lost, having to pull over, fumble my iPhone out of my pocket, look up directions, put everything away again, go a bit further, get lost again, ....

A couple of FJR owners (Harald and Marcus, take a bow, Gentlemen) have shown me their Garmin Zumo installs, but I quail a bit at the price.

Anyone have any experience mounting their iPhone as a GPS ? I see there are waterproof cases and motorcycle mounts for the iPhone 5 available from RAM, among others.

Alternatively, anyone got a source for cheap Zumo's ?

Thanks, Riona

I too couldn't afford the zumo so went for a refurb 1490 lmt from Walmart( if I recall about $125). Not perfect , as not waterproof, but i bought a ram waterproof cover for it, and others I know Carry a pastic zip Baggie they cover it with, course PNW is a Little wetter than nor cal.

Last edited by a moderator:
I too went the walmart.com route. Got a garmin 785 for $170 a few yrs back. Does everything I need and more. And yes, ziplok baggies work just fine but if you really want one I have an AquaBox I've never used and would be willing to part with.

If you do use the iPhone as a GPS, you NEED a power source because the battery is not going to last very long. I prefer a regular GPS but the iPhone 5 does have turn by turn navigation so it should be better (I have the iPhone 5 but I still prefer my Garmin 3790LMT). I still have to install the Techmount I ordered over the winter months to complete my setup (I want to avoid the tank bag).

iirc, iPhones have what's commonly called, A-GPS, which means 'assisted gps'. This feature requires cellular connectivity, and uses more power, and more importantly, your data time.