'04 vs '06 AE

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
M

Malve

I am debating between a used '04 or a new '06 AE.

To be clear, I am def. getting a silver FJR...just not sure which is the better choice...spending $9,500 ish for a lower mileage '04 or getting a new AE.

My biggest concern is probably maneuverability of the AE at very low speeds. I have many years experience on motorcycles although truth be told not that many miles under my belt. My last street bike was a '94 Kawasaki ZX11 (sold in '97) but I have been riding off road the last couple of years on a Yamaha wr450. I feel like I have very sensitive throttle control as it is necessary for riding on technical terrain on the WR...but I am stll concerned about the clutchless bike and the inability to feather.

I live in San Diego, so I don't think that the heat issue will be bad as it doesn't get that hot here (but I am open to comments on this point).

I am not interested in a new A only because I much prefer the silver.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated as I would like to decide ASAP.

To be clear, I am def. getting a silver FJR...just not sure which is the better choice...spending $9,500 ish for a lower mileage '04 or getting a new AE.

My biggest concern is probably maneuverability of the AE at very low speeds. I have many years experience on motorcycles although truth be told not that many miles under my belt. My last street bike was a '94 Kawasaki ZX11 (sold in '97) but I have been riding off road the last couple of years on a Yamaha wr450. I feel like I have very sensitive throttle control as it is necessary for riding on technical terrain on the WR...but I am stll concerned about the clutchless bike and the inability to feather.