NGK-CR8EK plugs after 12,000 miles

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HaulinAshe

Reaction score
I have been using NGK CR8EK plugs in motocross for about two years. The dual electrode configuration gives improved starting and the plug has been a very positive influence on race wins for me. So I decided to try the same plug in my FJR and changed to them at 8,000 miles. Just did the 20,000 mile service and decided to take some pics of the plugs removed.

Enjoy!

BTW, I special order these plugs from Advance Auto. They don't know they can get them, but they can. And it's a lot cheaper there.

p0001196.jpg

p0001197.jpg

So these are copper core plugs? Are they better than the single electrode iridium plugs?

Jeff, Did you notice any kind of performance difference, in your FJR, when you switched to these plugs? Did you replace them with the same plug?

Last edited by a moderator:
Jeff, Did you notice any kind of performance difference, in your FJR, when you switched to these plugs? Did you replace them with the same plug?
The differences between straight/stock CR8E and the CR8EK were subtle.

* Slightly better gas mileage of about 1-2 mpg.

* More torque in short, fast bursts with the throttle WFO. The bike definitely began pulling the front wheel airborne at an earlier throttle setting.

* Most noticeable has been the lack of any noticeable decline in performance over the last 12,000 miles. Unlike the CR8E which was sometimes a bit slow to start and getting progressively more "unpredictable" toward the end of their 8,000 mile life.

I replaced with CR8EK again. This time I plan to go 20,000 before the change since these last plugs looked extremely good and showed no signs of physical or performance degradation at 12,000.

The CR8EK is a definite :thumbsup: in my book.