Bridgestone BT-021 Feedback

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwilly

Administrator of Drama
Reaction score
I have been running the BT-021's for a couple of months and wanted to share my experience. I was one of the first ones on the forum to install them so I have been able to rack up some miles. BTW, I purchased them from SW Mototires which has great prices and amzingly fast shipping. From order to my door in 2 days! Down side of buying tires online, Like Haulin Ashe pointed out some weeks ago. If you have a problem with a tire your pretty much on your own. :angry2:

My first impression of the tires for the first couple hundred miles was exceptional! The grip both wet and dry very good and great feel on turn in and would hold lines in the turns better than the Avon AV series that I had been running most recently. After only a 100-200 miles I noticed that my front tire was very noisy! It sounded like I had a 4x4 truck riding next to me it was so loud. The sound was similiar to a motocross tire going down the blacktop.

First course of action, I checked the tire pressure and discovered that the shop that installed and balanced them had only put about 33psi in them and the gauge that I used when I reinstalled them on the bike wasn't working. New gauge, set them to 41psi. No change at all, I also tried several other tire pressures to no avail. So i take the bike over to the place that installed the tire and discussed it with them. Considering that I didn't buy the tire from them they were very cool. They pulled the wheel and dismounted the tire, we inspected the tire inside and out, everything looked fine. Then reinstalled, and balanced the tire. Trust me on this, these guys work on sport and track bikes. The guy helping me was one of the most anal mechanics that I have seen mount and balance a tire.