100 lbs above GVWR

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FJRpilot1977

Reaction score
Hello! I am a new owner of a 2016 ES. I was wondering if I could get some opinions here. I just weighed myself at 270 lbs, without gear. With textile gear & helmet, I am around 300lbs. Even more with leather, of course. Wife is 125 / 140+ with gear. Boom! We are maxxed-out without luggage or any add-ons! Add top case (which I have just ordered), add luggage in all 3 cases, puts us way over the weight capacity of 441 lbs, or whatever it is on the 16 ES. Just received T-rex engine and pannier guards, and noticed the box weighs 21 lbs. I'm considering sending the T-Rex stuff back and just install a slider for engine and take my chances on everything else. I need every pound I can spare here. I work in the automotive industry and have seen what happens when people modify crap and exceed limits. I know FJR's are tough and the GVWR is a "safe range" and could possibly handle more, but ride and handling are sacrificed, and safety is priority.