Brand New 08 FJR With Low RPM Surging

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Subcritical

Reaction score
Hello,

I just purchased an 08 FJR last Friday. It now has 300 miles on it. Because I am new to the FJR, and this is my first Yamaha in 20 years, I wanted to find out if what I'm experiencing is normal to the FJR. I tried searching these forums for a similar problem, but the Search didn't turn anything of relevance.

Anyway, a description of what I'm experiencing is thusly:

When I first got the bike, and even this morning, the bike ran smooth as silk at any RPM's. When I rode home this afternoon, at low RPM's (2000-4000rpm at constant throttle), the bike has minor "surging". It kind of reminds me of a bike that uses a petcock(sp?) valve. You know when to switch to reserve because the bike starts to hesitate and surge.

Also, if you stand next to the bike at idle and hold the throttle at a constant rpm (under 4000rpm), the engine note doesn't sound smooth and constant, but rather like it skips a little bit.

It most definately didn't do this prior to this afternoon.

I brought the bike to the dealer today, and of course he told me that it was just normal engine harmonics. For some reason I don't believe him and would rather be told the same thing from someone here. Or that there is a throttle body problem or something.

Please help.

Thanks!!

Don't know about the other folks here, bur I say RELAX bro. I have an 08A as well and ther are some minor quirks at first. Don't do shit between now and 1000 miles except enjoy the bike and change the oil. Ride the fuck out of it, buy the Y.E.S warranty, and don't be so uptight. Just my .02 of course.

Also, if you stand next to the bike at idle and hold the throttle at a constant rpm (under 4000rpm), the engine note doesn't sound smooth and constant, but rather like it skips a little bit.