FJR off road excursion

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carlson_mn

Reaction score
Well not especially proud to share this but it is entertaining. It's my first time leaving the road ever actually in about 90k miles, not that I haven't made mistakes and gone a bit wide before.

I had been leading this ride and said I'd get some video footage of the guys with me on a CBR1000RR and S1000RR. I had been creeping on them in the ride because you have to be REALLY close with a GoPro for following footage to look good. Doing that I got into a bit of target fixation on the guy in front of me instead of focusing on the line I was going to take through the corner. I was dragging a peg with a bad entrance line and I felt I was going to go wide leaned over past the apex and in Wisconsin once you get to the shoulder area there is gravel and I felt that would be an impending low-side. I decided to stand it up a bit, scrub some speed, and then get off the brakes and let the bike ride it out. It worked out alright. My line through the tightening left hander was crap but I know I could have pulled through it with a little body positioning and better instinct but we make mistakes sometimes. The guy in the middle on the CBR1000RR was his first or second time on this particular road and he actually went wide earlier, it's a road that can sneak up on you after giving you some nice twists the sight lines can go to zip on the next bend so if your riding was sloppy it can reward you with some grass.

Don't forget to select HD resolution. Please comment if you 'enjoyed'!
fool.gif
winksmiley02.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
+1!! That trip into the grass didn't seem to slow you down much. I think I would have had to pull over for awhile, and maybe change my underwear!!

Thanks!