• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to FJRForum and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or just click here to donate.

I'm designing a luggage bag for the FJR

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CODan

Reaction score
Admin - if this violates the rules of the forum, please delete or move as required, and please accept my apologies.

To all - hello, this is Dan from Dirt-Bike-Gear.com. I've been making soft luggage for dirt bikers for 7 years now and am looking to move into street bikes in a small way. In the dirt bike world I've often sought out input from others about desired features and that's why I'm posting now.

I'm designing an "everyday" bag for the FJR (I have an 08 FJR) and other bikes. The basic idea is a simple, very nearly waterproof bag designed to very quickly strap onto the seat or the luggage rack. I am motivated to design this because I often find I want either a bit more than my tank bag carries, and sometimes I don't want the tank bag at all.

I realize that there are several other manufacturers in this niche, but I think I've got a unique idea or two that will make my bag sellable.

Here's a basic description:

1) material - a very waterproof material of heavy, durable fabric. Black only.

2) size - roughly 10" long x 9" wide, and about 4" high. That's about the right size to fit neatly on the seat of many large bikes like the FJR, and also on luggage racks like my Garauld sport rack

3) access - via a zipper covered with a flap, around 3 sides of the bag

4) bungee on top - for extra storage capacity