McCruise Control Installation

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rfespinosa

Reaction score
I completed the installation of the McCruise Control on my '08 FJR, it took me about 16 hours and cost $750 USD. I am not an expert mechanic, I would rate myself an average do-it-yourself that's a bit on the slow but sure side. I purchased the kit made specifically for my bike which included a harness (called a loom by the Aussies) with all the wires cut to the right length and with the appropriate connectors - I didn't have to cut any wires. The servo unit installs under the rider's seat, the computer install by the tail light under the passenger seat. The installation required removing the gas tank and the left and right panels on the sides below the seat. If I were to do it again I could do it in half the time.

The cruise is sophisticated, complicated, very well made, and works great. It will hold a speed, accelerate, decelerate, disengage with either brake or clutch pull. The control buttons on the handlebar are illuminated for night riding. The instructions are detailed, complete, and very long. I could uninstall it and leave the bike OEM with no cut wires or cables which indicates how well thought out the unit is. The diagnostics and set up included will ensure that you get it adjusted just right while in the garage so that it will perform just right once on the road.

I had to adjust the "carburator" cables twice to get it just right (under the gas tank). I can now remove the gas tank and put it back on in 30 minutes. I am getting to know by FJR much better.

I love an electronic cruise control, I had one on my previous bike and knowing I could do this to the FJR was an important factor in my purchase. I consider this the most important accessory added to my bike.

Any questions?

Ron