Motorcycles and Invisibility

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

infrared

Reaction score
Near the Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA, Sol III.
Maybe this is not really my business; we all make our own decisions. I have seen a lot of posts lately saying that auxiliary lighting is the way to be seen, by otherwise careless cagers. I'd mostly agree, but when you are cresting a hill, or the sun is low behind you, any lights (or more lights) can make you even harder to see, and extra caution is needed. I have some back-up, for that statement.

From the day I started riding, experienced riders told me to ride like I was invisible. Good advice, although I did not know why, then. Yeah, had a few close calls. I lived . . . About the worst one for me came from the other side of the problem. I was coming from work, driving the big K5 Blazer (not one of the S-10 toys). I stopped at the Stop sign, and looked both ways. One side had a Sun kinda low in the sky, but not blindingly, yet. The cross street was empty, both ways, but just as I let out on the clutch, I spotted something low, fat and dark, about the size of a wharf rat coming my way. It was clocking about 35 mph (55 kph) down the middle of the road. This was a curious-enough sight to make me lock up the brakes, trying to figure out what this thing was. I heard tires squeal, and a motorcycle appeared, right in front of my truck. There was maybe a yard (meter) between my front bumper and the bike, as it went across my path, but I was fully stopped. The rider had dropped the bike, and slid to a stop. Since he was off already, he decided that we needed to talk. I would have gladly crawled under a rock. I apologized from the heart, but it didn't mean much until I said that I ride, myself, and that I really did look, but just did not see him. No blood no foul; he refused my money. He picked up the bik