New To Me 2005 ABS

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doug44

Reaction score
Hello to the group after reading a few posts here about new owners of the FJR etc I thought I would post this note. I have been riding for 40 years and lost count of the different motorcycles I have owned ! Included are many BMW's many Honda's, a few Yamaha's, one Harley a few Suzuki's so you kind of get my background. For the past four years I had been riding a GL1800 including a trip last year out to CA from IL here riding 6300 miles in 12 days including PC 1 in CA pretty much from San Luis Obiso to the Or. border. In May I traded the GL1800 for a Suzuki 650 V-Strom (wee strom) including factory bags & top case. After 4 years it was time for me to have a different ride and the GL1800 was getting pretty heavy for me lately and is a great bike but not a ton of fun. After putting 4500 miles on the wee strom and doing 3-4 500 to 850 mile weekend trips going to GNC Dirt track races I just couldn't quite get the wee strom to settle down on the highway. Just too light, wind affected it badly, the bike was just too tall for me (5' 7") and I like to cruise a GPS 75 MPH which was OK but not much overhead left after that if somebody wanted to pick the pace up to 85MPH.