Wiring Hella FF50's to highbeam switch?

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billyjack

Reaction score
I had my Hellas wired up to the highbeam switch on my Gen 1, but only used them intermittently, as I was concerned about draw. I now have a Gen 2, and want the same setup. Do you think its a poor idea to run them that way for an extended period? Or is it fine, if the current isn't running through the switch? As you can tell, I'm far from an electrical engineer. Thanks!

I would power them off the battery with a fuze and then have the high beam wire trigger a relay that would turn the lights on or have the relay power a switch

I would only use the high beam wire to run a relay and not power the Hellas's

when they build the wiring harness they figure the wire size right to the max. when they are buying miles of wire they want to keep the weight down and want to buy the cheaper wire, so there is not much room to add much to the wires that are already there.

Great advice ^^^^

I definitely wouldn't run aux lights off the factory headlight wiring. Use the high beams [switch] for a trigger to a 30A relay, fused and wired properly.

Something similar to THIS w/o the distribution block.

--G

Last edited by a moderator:
I also have mine on a relay which works well, triggered by the wire to the high beam under the dash panels. Power comes from a fused distribution box.

I also use a 3 position toggle switch so I can have the lights;

1. On with high beam activated.

2. Off

3. Always on when bike is running.

Gents - I really appreciate the info, and the references. This will enable me to educate myself, instead of diving in blindly, which is never good. Thanks all!

I used an AutoSwitch AS7, a dual 87 relay, and Posi-Lock connectors for my installation.