Ticker suspect

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grommit

Reaction score
I own a Gen1 FJR '03 with 40K miles on clock. I purchased it second hand with 20K miles on clock and since then its engine had a distinct top-end ticking noise. The character of the noise has not changed much for the last 20K miles. So here it is:

I studied the Ticker subject (ticker summary), changed the CCT but have done neither the valves nor exhaust headers yet.

I used a stethoscope to locate the source of the tick but still can't say for sure it's coming primarily from the front of cylinder 1.

So do you guys think its a ticker?

-grommit

Last edited by a moderator:
It doesn't have that metallic "knives dropping on tables" sound quality to me of true tickers. It sounds more like a CCT, but that it seems to still be there at higher RPM and not necessarily favoring the right side is a bit confusing.

Oil consumption? Maybe drop the headers and look for sure on the exhaust ports for oil.

It doesn't have that metallic "knives dropping on tables" sound quality to me of true tickers. It sounds more like a CCT, but that it seems to still be there at higher RPM and not necessarily favoring the right side is a bit confusing.

Oil consumption? Maybe drop the headers and look for sure on the exhaust ports for oil.
It should not be a CCT issue as I just changed the unit for a newest version available from Yamaha. And the tick is not only coming from the right side for sure.

No oil consumption between annual change.

I'm planning dropping headers, no spare parts for that yet.

-grommit

My 04 was a ticker, I'm very familiar with it.