Mea Culpa and Lesson Learned

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Twigg

Just an old, bald man!
Reaction score
I have been riding motorcycles for close on 4 decades. Even having learned something during those hundreds of thousands of miles, on Saturday I learned (again), that powerful motorcycles are to be treated with respect.

I made an error that was stupid, dumb, crass, and one I should never have made, and I post this as a reminder.

I was riding two-up and joining the highway from the top of the on-ramp. As we turned on to the on-ramp a car decided it could cut in front of us for reasons best known to the driver .... I didn't ask.

What I did do was get mad, and cut inside the car using the power of the FJR to get back in front. The front wheel caught something on the road, and the large handful of throttle helped push the bike into a wild tank-slapper. Nothing about this was smart, clever or good decision-making, and could very easily have hurt both myself and, more importantly, my wife who was simply an innocent passenger.

Fortunately, a loose grip on the bars and a great deal of luck avoided anything more than a wild "wobble", but five days later I am still pissed that I lost my concentration and my sanity like that. Recently I have been happy that the many LD rides and rallies in the last few years have passed entirely without incident.

Self-congratulations have a habit of biting you very hard if you ever, even for a moment, forget the basics of road-safety and defensive riding.

I learned that on Saturday ... Sheesh! Do we ever stop learning?