Gear Shift Indicator

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aristoi

Reaction score
OK, I am looking for some advice on adding a gear indicator. I am constantly searching for 6th gear, and i am sick of thinking about the count in my head rather than enjoying the ride. I am looking at the Acumen DG8 ($140) or the Datatool DiGi ($80). Aside from the price can anyone tell me what the difference is? Any preferances and why? Thanks

I have no experience with either (maybe a search would yield some enlightenment) but I sure wouldn't mind having a gear indicator myself. I'd look at putting it in the mirror like the voltmeter "Farkle of the year" nominee. Don't have the link handy....Anybody?

I bought the Acumen gear change indicator from Riderstation--the U.S. distributor and had oodles of problems. Very difficult install (to get the wiring right). Never did work properly and support from them was nonexistent. Someone on the old board was good enough to help me, but I think I had a bad unit.

Hellvalot easier to check the Revs at speed to see if you're in 6th.

P.S. They may be out of business. The weblinks I have for them are all dead.

Last edited by a moderator:
OK, I am looking for some advice on adding a gear indicator. I am constantly searching for 6th gear, and i am sick of thinking about the count in my head rather than enjoying the ride. I am looking at the Acumen DG8 ($140) or the Datatool DiGi ($80). Aside from the price can anyone tell me what the difference is? Any preferances and why? Thanks
6th gear? Did I get screwed :angry2: or did you get lucky? A 6th gear would be nice.

I used to want one... My previous bike didn't have one, same problem sort of, would once and while look for the non-existant 7th gear.

Then I installed that SportVue HUD which gives you a gear indicator, as well as graphical RPM and Speed in your helmet.