Jump to content


Photo

Front axle bolt -- 2006 and later


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Constant Mesh

Constant Mesh

    FJR Commander

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,576 posts
  • Location:Tenn
  • Bike: 2004 (Gen I) N. America

Posted 11 March 2012 - 06:12 PM

The Gen I's don't have a front axle bolt. Is an axle with a bolt a better configuration?

Does the bolt fix the axle to the left fork? Just curious. I haven't seen one and how it all goes together.

#2 escapefjrtist

escapefjrtist

    Searching for Dry Roads

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,664 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Snohomish, WA
  • Bike: 2009 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 11 March 2012 - 06:41 PM

Either configuration works fine. The benefit of the GEN II design, is the [steel] axle is not threading into the aluminum fork with the potential of stripping. Although, I can't ever recall a post reporting problems with the GEN I axle threads.

Here's a parts fiche of the GEN II Axle and Stackup with bearings and spacers.

--G

IBA 34365

'09 FJR

'12 Super Tenere


#3 Constant Mesh

Constant Mesh

    FJR Commander

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,576 posts
  • Location:Tenn
  • Bike: 2004 (Gen I) N. America

Posted 12 March 2012 - 04:48 AM

Looks like the Gen II front axles have a hubcap. Part# 11 appears to plug into the axle's 19 mm hex socket.

#4 RaYzerman19

RaYzerman19

    Go Wings Go!

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Millgrove, ON
  • Bike: 2007 ABS (Gen II) World

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:31 AM

Looks like the Gen II front axles have a hubcap. Part# 11 appears to plug into the axle's 19 mm hex socket.

Not sure what that is, it MAY be the hex itself as a pressed in item, but normally only the 19mm hex shows on the finished bike.

You don't go to Freddy Beach for the beach....

Duct tape can't fix stupid, but it can muffle the sound


#5 Fred W

Fred W

    Flatus Antiquous

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern NH
  • Bike: 2005 ABS (Gen I) N. America

Posted 12 March 2012 - 06:23 AM

For $1.50 I'm betting it is just a plastic plug that goes in the hex head of the axle. Probably gets lost in the dealer prep.

-Fred W        nerd.gif


 


#6 HotRodZilla

HotRodZilla

    I've Been Warned!!

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,743 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albuquerque, NM
  • Bike: 2007 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 12 March 2012 - 07:13 AM

For $1.50 I'm betting it is just a plastic plug that goes in the hex head of the axle. Probably gets lost in the dealer prep.


Yeah...I didn't look at the price, but it was labeled "cap" or "end cap." Whatever that is. My 2007 doesn't have one. I wonder if Fred is right and the bike leaves Japan with a cap in the end of the axel that gets tossed by the dealers at prep.

I do think having the axel nut reduces the chances of stripping anything, but as mentioned, I've never heard of anyone stripping a Gen1 fork. What I do wonder about is why they went from one pinchbolt to four pinchbolts. I could see going to two...One one each side, just for redundancy, but four? Something caused that...I just wonder what.

I'd rather go down the river with seven studs than with a hundred shitheads"
- Colonel Charlie Beckwith

 

"Never Kick A Fresh Turd On A Hot Day."

-Harry S Truman


#7 wheatonFJR

wheatonFJR

    :D

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,343 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Greenville,SC
  • Bike: 2004 ABS (Gen I) N. America

Posted 12 March 2012 - 07:23 AM

...What I do wonder about is why they went from one pinchbolt to four pinchbolts. I could see going to two...One one each side, just for redundancy, but four? Something caused that...I just wonder what.


Speaking as an engineer, I think an engineer just overthought stuff or got a really neato new piece of structural software that gave him results that freaked him out so he started adding crap to the bike.

I believe I have sufficiently taken my bike on enough paths where it was clearly not meant to be ridden that...that I feel quite comfortable with the bike. :)


A well designed Load test trumps software anyday anyway. :D

#8 escapefjrtist

escapefjrtist

    Searching for Dry Roads

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,664 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Snohomish, WA
  • Bike: 2009 ABS (Gen II) N. America

Posted 12 March 2012 - 05:46 PM

Speaking as an engineer...
A well designed Load test trumps software anyday anyway. :D


But...in your business wheatie, if it moves it's BAD news! OTOH, in mine it's good. ;)

--G

IBA 34365

'09 FJR

'12 Super Tenere


#9 wheatonFJR

wheatonFJR

    :D

  • Members++
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,343 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Greenville,SC
  • Bike: 2004 ABS (Gen I) N. America

Posted 12 March 2012 - 07:09 PM


Speaking as an engineer...
A well designed Load test trumps software anyday anyway. :D


But...in your business wheatie, if it moves it's BAD news! OTOH, in mine it's good. ;)

--G


Strictly speaking, all structures move. You just don't want them to fall down and go boom