gear or drive problem

Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum

Help Support Yamaha FJR Motorcycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Vallely

Reaction score
Hi Friends.  I am new to this blog.  I have a 2006 FJR 1300A (manual shift shaft drive) that has developed a strange problem.  As the bike warms up, it gradually loses traction in all gears.  The engine continues to operate properly, and I can change gears normally, but there is less and less traction.  It is as if the drive disengages from the gears, no traction.  I had to have my bike towed home when I was unable to get up a hill near home.  I changed the shaft drive oil, changed the regular oil with 10w-40, and checked the radiator.  Still continues to die.  Any insights would be greatly appreciated.  Also, I am in the Rockville, MD area and would like recommendations for dealerships or mechanics nearby who can service my bike.
Sincerely,
Mike V.
301-802-8855

Sounds like the clutch is slipping.  What oil are you using?  Are you using any oil additives?

Conventional automotive oils may contain additives that are not friendly to a motorcycle "wet" clutch.  Same with some aftermarket products that may be added to engine oil.

Sounds like clutch slippage.  Make sure that you are using oil rated for wet clutch use.  Modern oils with friction reducers cause wet clutches to slip, moreso when warm.

edit:  Ross beat me to it but we came to the same conclusion, which is a good thing.